top of page
Gali Weiss

My good sister, Afghan girl – Raise your voice



Women in Afghanistan continue singing as expression, as resistance, as the promotion of their rights. Not only adult women, but also teenage females, a generation that has experienced both gender rights and their tragic reverse.





Hold your hair (against the wind)

Somebody’s religion is trembling, know this!

Somebody’s religion is trembling, know this!

To stay with faith

You should be stoned unbelievably 


Get up, raise your voice and scream out, scream 

Raise your hand for your right!

Raise your hand for your right!

Although it is very difficult

You can do it, you can do it, woman!

You can do it, you can do it, woman!



The interpretation of these words by M, Afghan woman in Australia:


“It means that when the wind blows women’s hair, their religion gets to be trembling, so be careful. It has a long story behind it. All religious people in Afghanistan are against women’s hair. They always ask women to completely hide their hair. I don’t know what is wrong with women’s hair. So in this poem, it means that your hair could destroy their religion and all their beliefs, be careful and do not be silent, do not be violent and get up for your human rights.”





I am a woman, I am a daughter, I am a sister

I am a friend and wife, I am a mother

Two letters and one syllable but in meaning

I am big and wide-ranging.






My good sister, Afghan girl

Don't have too many tears in your eyes

Oh my god, love is not transient!

Sadness is not what you deserve

I know that the day will come

When the whole world will kiss your hand

No one will pass over anyone's rights.


Comentários


bottom of page