top of page
  • Gali Weiss

It Hurts to see My Nation Hurting


From my own experience, I recognise what living in diaspora, away from one's homeland, can bring up in times of crisis. One is torn with the paradox of wanting to be with your family and their suffering yet not wanting, or being able, to live in that way. These potent words from Naz Haidari are probably reflecting what a lot of women here feel in sadness and frustration.

"It hurts to know that I am safe here. It hurts to see my nation hurting (has been hurting for decades) and the worst part is we keep hoping and praying for a better tomorrow which seems to get further away from us each passing day."


Naz has asked me to post this link, which has links to various letters, petitions, campaigns and donations - ways you can support Afghanistan!


bottom of page