top of page
  • Gali Weiss

Childhood – Fears of a Mother


A few nights ago on ABC News a young woman spoke of how happy her childhood was (that was within the past 20 years) and her fears for her daughter's future. My friend U told me about her own fears for her daughter. I wrote: It must be so hard for you to separate your fear from her. How to be a mother in these times??!!

She replied:

"My daughter is three and a half years old and I am trying my best to keep her away from all these problems. But still, she can feel my situation and sometimes she asks me, why are you sad? And tells me; don't worry, I will buy you chocolates ...


Dear Gali, being a woman itself is very very difficult in Afghanistan and being a mother is more than that. It's so hard that you know what will happen and you can't do anything for her. I know what will happen for girls and women if Taliban get the power. They will be prevented from all their rights."

This was the night before the takeover.

Images from ABC News Vic


bottom of page