top of page
  • Gali Weiss

7 December Was History, She Said


Afghan girls attend a religious school, which remained open since the last year's Taliban takeover, in Kabul, Afghanistan, Thursday, Aug 11, 2022. (AP Photo/Ebrahim Noroozi)*


On Wednesday 7 December, T sat for her year 12 exams in Afghanistan. The Taliban announced a week beforehand that girls would be allowed to sit for their high school graduation exams despite banning their high school attendance since the takeover in 2021.


T passed her exams.


But there is no pure joy, just as there is no pure logic behind this graduation.

“Well, my dear Gali, yesterday was history. I graduated from school on December 7. I am happy that I finished school, but I am very sad that I finished two years of school without studying. It is very difficult for me to bear it.”


T was one of the fortunate ones who had learning materials at home and she persevered in her studies during this time.

“ I was always studying my lessons. But my classmates are very upset about returning to the exam because they didn't have anything to study.”


The exam covered 14 to 17 subjects in 3 hours.


As a school principal in Kabul said, "Giving an exam is meaningless.". **


And yet, the certificate of graduation itself has some meaning in that it will give T an opening to apply for university entrance next year.



Credits:

*https://apimagesblog.com/blog/2022/8/13/afghan-girls-face-uncertain-future-after-1-year-of-no-school

bottom of page